Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Frustrating night with autofocus

AlistairW

Hello,

Never had a problem with this before, but spend a few hours trying to get this to work last night in SGP. It's not the kit, definitely something I am not doing right.

Lakeside focuser and using a Baader 8nm Ha filter in a wheel.

I was pointing at M45 (Pleadies) and ran the normal autofocus routine, but I was not seeing my usual V curve (I think SGP has a different algorithm to FocusMax. SGP uses a large selection of stars to analyse an average position(?)). So I started playing with the number of steps and the step size. I think my question is around how large the 'range' should be. By this, I mean, should the routine only be concerned about small movements about a known approximate focus point ?

I started with a large range and then you could obviously see the dip towards focus. But if I limited the focuser range then I got more variance and indeed some near 'straightish' curves.

So yes I can get a V curve but only if the scale is 'very course' and the optimum focus will be not analysed (?). So , to reiterate, is autofocus about 'small' movements around an approximate known focus point ?

Also does it matter what I am pointing at to do this. I think with SGP, the more stars in the image the better, and I was using 60 second exposures for the Ha filter. I guess it is possible to choose a part of the sky that has fewer stars available and this would not help the algorithm - (I did do this later in the night - i.e. just pointing to a random part of the sky).

Thanks

Alistair

Hi Alistair

If you are using your GT81 and 383L combination, I would start with a step size of 35, 9 AF points, bin 2, 4 for pixel size, 6 sec exposure and use Lum filter. Set backlash to something like 45 In.

You should aim for the top of the V-curve to read about 3 to 4 times the HFR value at the low point.