NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

upgrading from alt azimuth to equatorial mount

Hi all. I'm a newbie and know little about telescopes so please forgive me if this seems a silly question. I've been thinking of changing the alt azimuth mount of my Celestron LT80AZ to an equatorial mount.  I've only seen a few mounts and they where all different at the tube fixing point.  Can equatorials be adapted for any make/type of scope or do I need to buy a Celestron equatorial mount? I don't need anything fancy but just thought an equatorial mount (maybe a simple EQ1) would be more stable the the alt azimuth. 

Your present mount will be easier to setup.

There is more to understand and setup using an EQ mount, there will be further regular adjustments and rotations of the telescope tube in order to keep the eyepiece in a convenient position whilst you track through the sky, then from experience, on my GEM mount, I had to centralize everything and align the controls before observing my next target. All-in-all very time consuming, but once mastered, its  not an issue, its just time consuming.

My jump from EQ to a Dobsonian was pivotal ( excuse the pun). The need for an EQ  for visual use only, to my mind, is  a waste, and an expensive one too. If I venture into Astrophotography, then an EQ mount may be essential, and one a higher spec than that supplied with the scope, for stability reasons.

An EQ mount, once you overcome and master the system can be  beneficial to many  folk too, as they can use additional   tube rings to  support/carry most types of  telescope, but the EQ system you buy needs to be STRONG and SOLID, otherwise, no matter what telescope you fit,  problems with stability in the wind could be an issue. A Dobsonian on the other hand, was designed to carry a large mirrored telescope easily and effectively, batteries not required?

IMO, having owned one, 'stable' is not the first one that comes to my mind when I think of the EQ1.