Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which eyepieces for Skyhawk?

Hi everyone, I'm a complete newbie on here and to telescopes in general! I bought a skywatcher Skyhawk 1145p recently for my daughter (and me!). We have got to grips with the basics of the eq1 mount and the general movement of the telescope. Using the eyepieces supplied (10mm, 25mm and 2xbarlow) we've had a good look around and studied the moon. All nice so far! Now I'm looking at the best eyepieces to get... Going away to Devon in October so darker skies await! I'm a bit baffled by the eyepieces on offer. What we really want to see are DSOs and planets. After MUCH googling I'm thinking a 6mm and a 32mm (suitable with my scope) or do I get a 12mm which will double up as a 6mm with the Barlow? It's all a bit confusing! Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks! 

Hi Sophie (+ daughter) and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

Have a look at http://www.skysthelimit.org.uk/ Alan the propieter is very helpful and his prices are very reasonable/competitive that is kind to the purse/wallet and without the tears. :crybaby2:

The eyepieces you mention I think would be an improvement over the supplied ones, as they have had a bit of negative feedback, especially the 10mm. :evil62:

Scope is a it on the "fast" side, f/4.4

When scopes get fast the eyepieces tend to be a bit of a concern, generally it means more costly ones. Doesn't it always.

See what Alan has in stock, he is good and will give a honest opinion. He told me I was mad. If neither of you wear glasses then try plossl's but at the shorter focal lengths the eye relief gets small. Usually about 2/3 of the eyepiece focal length. So a 6mm plossl means the eye will be about 4mm from the top lens and that may be uncomfortable and with glasses impossible.

Eyepieces with longer eye relief are as you will guess more expensive. Alan sells BST Starguiders and very good but £49 each - which is not bad for the performance of the eyepiece.