NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My first Fuzzies

Naten

I am pretty new to astronomy. Though I have had a Celestron AstroMaster LT 60AZ for a while, I am just now getting into using it a lot.

Until now, that meant I was only looking at stars and planets. But today at 10:30 PM local time, during partly cloudy skies, I took the scope outside to look at things. I had already drawn a map of Sagittarius, including what I needed to know to make sure a star was the star I was looking for (spectral type and magnitude.) However, I didn't need that information too much. It was easier than I thought, as on this clear night, Sagittarius is one of the only constellations clearly visible from the suburbs.

I located what I think to be M22 pretty quickly with the 20mm eyepiece. In the 10mm, it was invisible. It appeared as an anomaly or a smudge on the lens at first, but it moved with the stars through my telescope. Aside from the Pleiades, M22 was my first Fuzzy. It was so dark, averted vision had a great effect on how well I saw it.

After a bit of time, I said bye to Fuzzy and quickly located Andromeda. It was late enough so that some of its stars were far enough from the horizon to be visible. I used binoculars to see it brighter, and then pointed the scope to where M31 should be, assuming I was actually pointing at Andromeda. After a few tries and some more 20mm eyepiece sweeping, I found it. It looked very dark and fuzzy, too, but this Fuzzy had an elongated shape. M31 was slightly brighter than the other Fuzzy, M22. First galaxy, and first time seeing M31.

Two Fuzzies with one stone. I am pretty happy right now. I have to go to sleep to recharge my space section of my brain.

I hope you enjoyed this short story of a great astronomy achievement of mine.  I was starting to doubt whether or not I would be able to see a Fuzzy anytime soon. Clear skies, Naten