Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Andromeda...first attempt

This is my first try at m31  I have a 8" Antares scope ,canon rebel.i have backyard software to control my camara .i took 50 ,20sec at 3200 iOS, 5dark and 5 bias....deep sky stacker.....processed. In Lightroom......but we're is the colour....as much as I tweak.i can't get it right.....any advice would be great......I'm just starting deep sky imaging. I think my polar alinment need to be better. Did I over expose it......help.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

A very good first attempt. With an EQ mount like that I would expect exposures longer than 20 seconds to be possible, though I can see star-trailing in your image already. Perhaps your polar-alignment was a bit off?

You seem to have some strong vignetting going on in your image. Try taking photos using the scope but put a piece of paper over the front and shine a torch onto it (expose so that the meter is at +0 stops). Then use those as flat files. They should take care of the vignetting. (for best results, do this before each imaging session and do not move the focus of the scope or change the orientation of the camera between taking flats and taking lights)

When it comes to your over-exposing problem, you may find that with targets like Andromeda, Orion nebula et al. you need to use multiple exposure lengths (short exposures to capture bright detail, long exposures to capture dark detail) and stacking them separately (and then blending the images over each other in GIMP or PhotoShop).

I have been told that darks don't do much for DSLRs (or can make the images worse), but you should take many many bias frames- make a library of 200+ shots and use them on all of your photographs. You shouldn't need to many flats, but I'm told flats are best used in conjunction with biases.