NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How much integration time?

Herzy

The clear nights are rare here. I mean really rare... Like one every two months. 

I really want to get a beautiful image of a nebula of some kind, and I'm willing to pull an all-nighter of imaging. However, I'm in a very light polluted sky so would spending one of my very rare nights imaging something so faint yield bad results? For reference, I can't see any of the Little Dipper except Polaris. 

I really want to capture the North America nebula or the crescent nebula.

I'm by no means an expert and someone else will be along soon, but I would say give it a go, it's the only way you'll find out for sure.

Results will partly depend on your equipment of course, but you WILL get something. As an idea, I can only see at most 3 stars in Ursa Minor including Polaris on most clear nights. I also get maybe only one or two clear nights a month which I can actually use, so I feel your pain on that one!

By the way, both targets you mention are rich in Hydrogen Alpha so you'd need a modded DSLR or a CCD camera to be able to get something really worthwhile on them.

Without an LP filter you possibly won't be able to go far past two minute exposures but there's still plenty to go at with that.

I made the move into imaging about 2 months after getting my smallish 'scope because the horrendous light pollution was stopping me seeing much at all. Imaging kept me in the hobby basically! (but then emptied my wallet :laugh:)

I'm not sure what gear your using but the only way I've been able to overcome light pollution is moving to narrowband. 

If you can't go narrowband try and get a decent light pollution filter and stack as many as you can.  Learning to process will help alot and plug-ins like gradient xterminator will make life easier. 

Main thing is just to have a try and enjoy it.....easier said than done :tongue2: