SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Vanguard Endeavor ED II 10x42 Review

I've been threatening for several years to purchase a quality pair of small binoculars, largely for general use but also for casual astronomy on those occasions when I'd prefer to just slip something in my pocket rather than carry 5kg of 15x70mm binocular and tripod around with me. There are plenty of very good options at the budget end, but I always try to find that point where you spend just a little bit more to get something that's approaching top quality performance without having to pay for it. Having read an awful lot of binocular reviews, this did not seem easy because many of your famous brands like Nikon, Leica, Minox, Pentax and Zeiss charge more than I'd like to pay for their top models. The level of quality I was looking for seemed to be in the £700 to £1,000 area, but quite frankly if I'm going to pay that much for something that's excellent, I may as well go all in and buy some Swarovski ELs for £1,800, and KNOW that I have the best.

There are, however, a number of lesser known manufacturers who are turning out some seriously impressive gear in the £2-500 bracket. Looking at the reviews, and learning all sorts of stuff about coatings, ED glass, softening and aberrations along the way, I found myself looking at the Eagle Optics Ranger, Celestron Granite, Vortex Diamondback, Vortex Viper, Vanguard Spirit and Vanguard Endeavor ranges. Of these, the Vanguard Endeavor ED II and Vortex Viper stood out as two optics which universally impressed everyone for the immense quality they delivered for a relatively low price. On the www.allbinos.com website, where they assess each aspect of a binocular to within an inch of its life, these ranked 6th and 12th respectively out of some 70-odd runners, and were placed well in amongst and in some cases above the top tier models which were double if not quadruple their price.