Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie requires scope help/advice please

Help! I'm totally new to astronomy and as tonight was the first clear sky since I bought my Meade ETX125PE, I gave it a runout. I used the Goto option and it took me to Vega and then Arcturus.

I used the 26mm eyepiece. When I focussed on Vega I saw a circle of white with a black centre - it looked quite a lot like a polo mint. I got exactly the same when I focussed in on Arcturus. There was one point when I thought it could have been the reflection of my iris! I know I was looking at SOMETHING in the night sky, because I slewed away from the object and saw nothing but darkness.

Is this how these two objects should have looked, or is there something fundamental I'm doing wrong?

Annoyingly there was a clear, bright moon tonight too, but it was low in the sky and was obscured by some pesky trees at the back of our garden, so I didn't get to try the scope out on it.

Any help or advice would be most welcome.

TIA

Killer / Steve

No, that's not how they should look.

When a star appears as a ring of light with a dark centre, that means you are not in focus. We do this deliberately for a type of optical adjustment test; but in normal observing situations, stars should be pinpoints of light with almost zero diameter, and no dark centre. (When you say "I focused on Arcturus", I'm guessing you mean "I pointed at Arcturus").

(The dark centre is the reflection of the secondary mirror, glued to the back of the main lens at the front of the telescope.)

You need to adjust the focus knob on your telescope until the stars become pinpoints of light. If you run the focus knob through the entire range and cannot get the stars to be pinpoints, something is wrong - chances are you have omitted an optical element or have something in the wrong order. Try to find the focus point and if you can't, report back with a description of how your components are assembled.

Good luck

Richard

Ottawa