Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help Focusing/viewing objects on Astromaster 114EQ

Hi,

This is my first post, and I am relatively new to astronomy, so please disregard any ignorance on my part. Currently I have an Astromaster 114EQ, and have been running into a problem. Whenever I point my telescope at a distant star or a planet, (Jupiter in this case), I get the same exact image-- a blurry white circle (kinda looks like a microscope slide), and covering it is the crossbars and shadow of the secondary mirror. When I focus it, I can get the image to a much smaller size, however lacking any actual detail. I was able to make out Jupiter, and a small dot next to it, likely a moon-- but I am not able to make out the gaseous rings or 'halos', as many others have. In fact, I was only certain it was Jupiter due to the dot (moon) next to it.  Despite this, when I decide to look in the direction of the moon, everything is crisp clear... I can make out all of the distinct details of the moons surface! I have attempted collimating my telescope, however I lack a proper collimation cap... but from what I can tell, the mirrors are centered. Regardless, I don't feel this is the problem. I have looked for solutions elsewhere, and have tried multiple things, but I have had no real luck... Any insight would be great.

Also, here is a video that I recently found, that shows an image similar (not 100% identical) to what I am seeing:

Okay - this is easy! What you are seeing in the above image is a de-focused star. We actually are known to want this image when we 'collimate' our telescopes. If you are seeing nicely circular-rings like this, it means your telescope's optics are 'collimated.' Collimate means the mirrors are properly aligned.