Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is my scope any good

Hi guys I have bought a Thomas-Oliver 700/76 reflector scope. I am new to star gazing and while I have had good images of the moon, tonight I had Jupiter but struggled to get a very good focus. Is my scope decent enough or is my he person using it?

Does it look like this one?
700 refers to it's focal length, and 76 the mirror diameter, both numbers  in millimetres.
That gives you a focal ratio of f 9.2.
If the tripod looks like the one in the picture, then you may have difficulty keeping an object in the field of view.
The eyepieces may be 4mm, 12,5mm and a 20mm , plus a Barlow lens.
The Barlow doubles the magnification of whichever eyepiece you use, but I wouldn't use it with the higher power eyepieces
Please bear in mind the mirror is a small one, and won't collect much light, so using high power magnification 
will render poor images. Don't get too carried away with high magnification.
A friend of mine had a 3" scope, and he seemed happy with it, for a while, then he upgraded to a 6", which he still has.
I wish you luck.

Thom_Oliver.jpg

Hi Degz,

Welcome to the SGL.

My first scope (if you discount the toy I had as a child) was a department store Tasco 76mm reflector back in the 80's Haley's comet period.  The biggest problem was keeping it steady, but I was able to see great views of the moon, the two bands of cloud on Jupiter and its four Galilean moons, rings of Saturn (I'll never forget the first time I saw that), the phases of Venus and as luck would have it that year, Mercury.  Back in those days, a decent 6-inch reflector would set you back several hundred pounds or more (a lot in today's money).

Do what you can to keep the mount steady and keep the powers low and you should be able to get similar results with it.

John