Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Old meets new. 0.96" adapter arrived

glennbech

Since I have made a slight detour into classic telescopes on my way from imaging to visual astronomy I now have a small collection of 0.96" eyepieces. Some of them, especially my Zeiss's seem to be of good quality. I got my adapter today and have doen a quick shoot out. Please feel free to comment on my observation, and educate me and others on Eyepiece theory :) Disclaimer: I am new to visual astronomy, I am very far from an expert on Eyepieces. Also feel free to comment on how to test eyepiecs! 

32VHGektQ4OGRn7pdHi98U2POsjY6z5VWsHzwNjf

Vixen SLV 20mm vs Carl Zeiss 20mm Ortho 

Splitting Mizar. The Vixen SLV seems to produce a brighter image. Both eyepieces creates a clean split at 31 x magnification. The Zeiss is less tolereant for eye movement, a correct head position is needed to get pinpoint stars.  

Vixen NLV 10mm vs Carl Zeiss 10mm Ortho

Moon & Jupiter. Both Eyepieces seem to produce an image of equal quality.  

.. To be continued :)

15 hours ago, michael.h.f.wilkinson said:

Interesting report. Just goes what modern coatings can do, if a multi-element design bests an older generation orthoscopic on transmission

After your post, I read up on coating here; http://www.astrosurf.com/luxorion/reports-coating.htm - interesting read. "Theoretically, an uncoated lens can lose about 4% of light transmission". Does the size of the eyepiece 0.96" vs 1.25" have anything to say when it comes to image brightness?

Zeiss Orthos are in the top shelf of  planetary oculars and i cant see modern multi lens occulars will beat them in sharpness and contrast on planetary or doubles.Will get close,but not beat them.Also Zeiss are Magneisum coated and NOT un-coated.

0.965" versions are obviously older ones and where intended for refractors with focal ratio of F10-F15. But still these are coated and absolutely superb eye pieces.