NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First go at M51

Hi This is my first attempt at M51. 

As some off you know i am unguided at the moment. But managed to get 11*2 min lights at iso1600, With a 8"SCT with focal reducer on a avx mount130316m51-02-22mins.thumb.png.aa920fab26

Stacked with DSS and processed using gimp  

Moon was about 60%

Thanks for  any tips and advice, and for looking

Dean

Hi Dean, thats a realy nice shot,  the way i see it is to reduce all those funny shades, you can shorten the exposure and capture more of them, so as to cut the light polution, this makes it simpler for the software to deal with, also you get sharper stars as less drift, the more you do the more you know what your own gear can manage, the better your skys the longer you can go, good luck, again nice

chris

ok you dont say your using a lp filter? i was speaking to Bern at Modern astronomy the other week and he says i need a CLS as the best way to cut through the polution, with my qhy8l, which is basicaly a cooled dslr sized chip,  if your using a Canon they do a clip filter, you have to expose a bit longer but i think it cuts most of the stuff that is harder on the software, im at the step where i just a got a mono camera to try to beat this so im at the bottom of a new ladder myself

chris  

20 minutes ago, Chris Murray said:

ok you dont say your using a lp filter? i was speaking to Bern at Modern astronomy the other week and he says i need a CLS as the best way to cut through the polution, with my qhy8l, which is basicaly a cooled dslr sized chip,  if your using a Canon they do a clip filter, you have to expose a bit longer but i think it cuts most of the stuff that is harder on the software, im at the step where i just a got a mono camera to try to beat this so im at the bottom of a new ladder myself

chris