NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First shot of the moon with my new scope

Good morning all :-)

At last the clouds have cleared which meant only one thing, time to try out my new scope!

I'm a complete amateur and Ive only been doing this since the turn of the year so I'm pleased with my attempt but I want to take it a step further and shoot Jupiter.

Before I go any further this is my setup. Skywatcher Evostar 80ED 80ED DS-Pro OTA on a standard EQ mount (I know, the mount is more important than the scope. Upgrading very soon ;-) ) A Canon 600d, unmodded.

So this shot was at prime focus but I would like to try eyepiece projection. Ive tried with a barlow but cant get the moon into focus so my question is what do I need to achieve focus.

Thanks guys, this is a great place to learn :-)

IMG_3090.jpg

Very nice first shot. I prefer the use of a Barlow or tele-centric lens (like the TV PowerMates) to using EP projection. Not sure why you cannot get focus. Can you tell us at what end the image is sharpest (or least blurry)? If the best image is found with the focusing tube wound inwards, you probably need a different Barlow. If it occurs when the focuser is fully extended (which I expect), you may need an extension tube.

5 minutes ago, michael.h.f.wilkinson said:

Very nice first shot. I prefer the use of a Barlow or tele-centric lens (like the TV PowerMates) to using EP projection. Not sure why you cannot get focus. Can you tell us at what end the image is sharpest (or least blurry)? If the best image is found with the focusing tube wound inwards, you probably need a different Barlow. If it occurs when the focuser is fully extended (which I expect), you may need an extension tube.

Thanks for the quick reply :-) Ok, so with the moon the whole image is just a blur and with Jupiter it's a blurred white disc of of light. The focus tube is fully extended :-)