NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

ASCOM Rewrite

Kango_V

Hi All,

I'm pretty new here and would like some advice. My girls are starting to get into astronomy and really love it. I'm completely new to it so am on quite a learning curve (though enjoyable). I'm trying to get to grips with all the software though. I'm from an open source background and am used to have the source for software I use being accessible (like github).

I am contemplating trying to write some software in scratch in Java 8 using all the new techniques that I've learnt, such as non-blocking IO, asynchronous streaming etc.
What I can't find are specifications for the ASCOM platform. I don't mean downloading a exe that I have to install either.

Can anyone provide any pointers to where I can start looking.

Just a bit of background. I started developing on Windows 2.0 up until Windows XP. Since then it's been Linux. This is my problem. I'd like to use Raspberry PI as device controllers for each bit of equipment with then all linked via a Gbit ethernet network.

Many thanks,

--
Darren.

1 hour ago, barkis said:

Don't know if this will help, but follow this link, and you can download the Developer Tools.

http://www.ascom-standards.org/Downloads/Index.htm

Yeah I saw that link. But, where can I just download source code? All I seem to be able to download is an .exe file. I'm used to open source projects providing access to cvs/svn or git repositories and then cloning the repository and building locally. This project has nothing like that which I find very strange.

This is the reason I'd like to have a go at implementing a pure Java version that will run on anything.

1 hour ago, Mick J said:

Hi Darren, don't want to muddy your thread but thought I had seen a thread like this before,  hope this one runs better. Here

I have seen a few Raspberry Pi items in the DIY forum. Here