Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Meade 12" LX90 - finding the celestial pole on a wedge

A group of us in Herefordshire have recently been granted sponsorship to build an observatory with a Meade 12" LX90 SCT. The Pulsar observatory will be erected this Thursday and the Meade will be installed on a Astro Engineering pier and heavy duty wedge with adjusters. I have no working knowledge of fork mounted telescopes on a wedge and clearly to do astro photography I need to find NCP not just Polaris. I have looked at various methods and the one that appeals is 'Kochad Clock'. However, there must be a number of you that have Meade/Celestron scopes on a wedge for astro photo work - any advice would be appreciated.

Once the observatory and scope are set up I will do a full report showing the construction, building and installation. The base is down and is complete with mains electricity and computer cables which are connected to a science lab in an adjacent High School.

The sponsorship from an international company and local benefactor requires that the observatory/scope is available to the community so interested astronomers in Herefordshire will have access.

Once again any opinions on setting up the Meade on a wedge would be appreciated.

Mark

(Note, I have never used a Meade scope on a wedge, not have I actually used the item mentioned below)

AE do a wedge based NCP finder scope called the Polar Mate.... I know GreenWitch have at least one because I saw it this morning. It "hooks" onto the wedge like this:

ay.jpeg

And acts just like a polar scope

http://www.astro-engineering.com/LX%20SCT/accessoriesforme.html#polar