SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Complete Noobie

Hi. I've always loved astronomy, but never had the time to properly study and practice it. I now have two kids, 8 and 9 years old, who are both keen on science. I need some advice on buying a first telescope for around £200. I would like to take my kids to some  amateur stargazing nights where we could get some support/advice and link them up to a local club. We live between Bridport and Dorchester. Thanks.

Two aspects that you should consider are the telescope design and the mount.

Telecope design will really be deciding between a refractor, where the light is gathered through a lens, or a reflector which uses a curved mirror. Reflectors are generally cheaper to make, so you get more telescope for your money. Refractors are perhaps more what children expect telescopes to be like.

Telescopes on tripods either have simple alt-azimuth mounts where you just move the telescope up and down, left and right, or they have a more complicated Equatorial mount which allows you to follow the planets, stars etc. as they "move" accross the sky (OK, we move they don't :smiley:). Alt-azimuth mounts are probably simpler for children to set up and use on their own; an Equatorial needs to be alligned with the Pole Star. Ideally for astronomy, the tripods need to be very stable. Unfortunately this is often not the case on cheaper scopes (and a solid tripod coud also be quite heavy for children to set up as well).

The alternative to a tripod mount is a Dobsonian mount. Basically the telescope rests on a base directly on the ground, and is swiveled up, down and sideways. These are relatively cheaper to manufacture, so once again more money goes on the scope itself.

In general, the larger the aperture (size of the tube) the better a telescope performs. More light enters, giving clearer more detailed views which will also permit higher magnifications.