Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Any other "essentials"?

Hi all

I am a total novice as regards astronomy. It has long been something I wanted to get into, having had an interest in space travel which started with the Apollo missions and my main goal is to get good views of the moon. I have a very limited budget (max £150) and am unable to hold binoculars due to disability. I had made up my mind that a Skywatcher 1145PM would be a good place to start but have now found an Explorer 130PM for £140. Should I go for the 130 do yoou think? I also have asked for a copy of Turn Left at Orion from the kids for fathers day and downloaded Stellarium.

I would be most grateful for your opinions as regards the 'scope and are there any other "must haves" I should be looking at. Initially I will be in the garden but I am fairly isolated in Oulton Broad and luckily there is not much light pollution.

Many thanks for taking the time to read this, I expect you get fed up with this sort of question!

Regards

John

Welcome to SGL John.

I've no experience of the scopes you mention but I'm sure someone will be along with some advice. Get as much aperture as you can is the usual mantra. There's a whole raft of "must haves" but I wouldn't rush into anything, perhaps just a polarising moon filter to start with.

Roy

Hi John

Welcome aboard, my main interest is the Moon also and I use an entry level refractor. It's cheap and light and gives nice detail of the Moon.

I sit on my little low stool and set the tripod to a comfortable height and look through the eye piece. I find this a great postion for extended periods of viewing. It's only 70mm diameter telescope but the Moon is a bright object, in fact it's too bright at times.

Here is a similar telescope http://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/detail.php?id=28

Paul

Wingman