NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help with polar alignment (AZEQ6)?

I have a new AZEQ6 mount, no OTA yet.This is my first time with an equatorial setup. I've been practising polar alignment, and it has me puzzled. I understand the basic principles, but what I'm seeing doesn't match the examples on the Internet.

Online tutorials for the EQ5 or EQ6 tend to be based on aligning the RA index scale, date circle, and date/longtitude index mark:

namingofparts.jpg

I have three problems following these tutorials;

1. When I look through the polar scope and rotate Polaris to the 6 o'clock position, I end up with the counterweight bar pointing almost (but not quite) straight upwards. I suppose this means I can't attach the OTA and weights until after polar alignment. I don't see any way to rotate the polar scope so the OTA is on top when Polaris is at the 6 o'clock position.

2. On my AZEQ6, the RA index scale is quite a distance from the date circle. It's not really feasible to align the RA index scale with the Longtitude scale/date circle. And the RA index mark is on the side of the mount rather than above the polar scope.

3. There's an index marker on the Date Circle, but the marker is behind the polar scope. I don't see how it can be aligned with anything else. Here's what the AZEQ6 looks like from behind:

AZ-EQ6-schnecke.jpg

From playing about, this simplified process seems to work, although I don't think it can be very accurate:

1. Rotate polaris to approx. 6 o'clock in the polar scope.
2. Rotate the RA index scale so the RA index mark points to zero.
3. Look at an app like Polar Finder, for the "HA" direction of Polaris in degrees.
4. Rotate the mount in RA until the RA pointer points to the "HA" value.
5. Lock, Put polaris into the circle in the polar scope.

I feel like a monkey in a nuclear power station; I'm sure all these markers and rings can help, but I don't see how. Does anybody hve any suggestions?

Thanks.