Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Opticron Oregon Observation 15x70 Binoculars

Itabot

Already have a pair of 10x50 bins, wanting bit more power, going round in circles trying to choose, my first thought was a pair of Celestron Sky Master 10x50 £60, good reviews but getting a good QC pair seems hit and miss, worryingly being a complete novice would I be able to tell if they aren't perfect.  Also fancied a pair of Helios Apollo HR 10x50 £275, may be over the top for a novice? 

Then spotted these Opticron Oregon Observation 15x70 £89 from FLO they say Best Bins under £100, are these a better option.

Any advice appreciated. 

Hi Itabot, if you have the money the Apollo's will serve you well for years. You need to give thought to a mount for them to get steady views and pick out the detail they will provide you. I'm sure others will chip in with ideas for you to consider regarding mounting. I use mine on a heavy duty tripod with a combined L bracket and red led finder to help with aiming. Good luck with your choice.

Cheers,

Steve

I wrote a review on the Oregon’s a few weeks ago and started a thread about it on SGL which you can find here.

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/247816-opticron-oregon-15x70-binoculars-review/

Not long after another thread started with a first light report which indicated similarities in experiences when using them.   That thread is here.

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/247922-opticron-oregon-15x70-binoculars-first-light/

I have not had the benefit of observing with the Helios binoculars so cannot offer a compare and contrast but price point alone would suggest they are the next level above the Oregon’s in optical performance, fit and finish etc.

Clear Skies,