Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Goto all checked out but no images

griz11

What a disappointing week weather wise. Cleared up long enough for me to get my goto system all configured but not long enough to get any imaging done. Teased me all week. I decided to play with the relay board and get my weather station up and going during the rain and clouds. The relay board I bought wasn't as advertised. No way to get to the digital pins unless you reprogrammed the PIC. I was in Houston so I went to a big electronics store that has lots of components etc and picked up an Arduino and a Sensirion temp humidity sensor and a 2x16 lcd shield with a set of pushbuttons. The Arduino is really easy to get going. What used to take days of prep is now all done for you basically. Tons of libraries for pretty much anything you might want to do. Even telescope controllers I've found. As usual as soon as I started playing with the board the ideas came so my simple temp and humidity project has morphed into something much more complicated. Now I have sensors either installed or on the way for temp humidity barometric pressure volts amps and a critter radar to keep the wandering deer away from my equipment. A buzzer and light will come on when the ultrasonic ranger detects one of them. Also going to do a touch screen keypad for my mount. I ordered the screen it should be here in a few days. An Arduino uno or nano will be perfect and I can add wifi to it easily. All this fits in the battery box I made for my goto system. 2 12.5 ah 12v batts and a charger. The unit will turn on my dew heaters when the dewpoint gets close turn on a light and camera so I can watch the slews monitor the critters and run the proximity sensors I'm going to install for limit switches. All in all a very productive week and we did some work on the bikes as well.

critter_scan.jpg

Critter scanner dual ultrasonic rangers mounted on a hobby servo.

weather.jpg