Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Difficulty Prosessing

Hi all.

On Sunday I was out with my scope and spent the evening imaging M81 / M82. Everything was fine and I took 55x180s subs, 7 of them were subtracted in stacking (from trails mostly), I also took 80 Flats and 80 Bias (no darks).

Anyway the data looks fine but I'm seriously lacking in the skill to process it, one major head ache for me is the I am using a CCD-CLS filter this is causing me to get a blue hue and I'm finding it difficult to equalise the colours.  I'm getting the background and stars to be colour equalised but this is throwing the colour of the galaxies out.

Could anyone provide me some help on what steps I should be doing?
I am processing it in Photoshop. I do had nebulosity and pixinsight trials but I have verY little knowledge on how to use them so would prefer to use Photoshop at the moment.

Any help would be appreciated. The stacked tif file I have been working on can be found here so if you want to make sure I'm actually able to get the colour out of it! of if you simply wanna play about and see what you get.

Shiin

Your really should be taking dark frames and using them. Same exact ISO and at the same exact ambient temp as the lights. I use HLVG filter in post to remove the color cast from the LP filter. That or you can use Gradient Xterminator.

After playing with your Tif I found that Gradient Xterminator worked. I would reprocesses the original files again in DSS and bring up the mids more. The original Tif is pretty dark. 

post-28595-0-23633400-1426002198_thumb.j

Your really should be taking dark frames and using them. Same exact ISO and at the same exact ambient temp as the lights. I use HLVG filter in post to remove the color cast from the LP filter. That or you can use Gradient Xterminator.