Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginner Scope Advice

Hi all, I'm hoping to buy my first telescope later today (a Skymaster Skyliner 200P) but as a total beginner I'm unsure about what accessories I might need to get optimum use from the 'scope. I've read various reviews that mention filters, additional eyepieces (Barlows?), upgrading the finder scope, Telrad (?) etc but I haven't a clue if these are really necessary &, more to the point, if they are necessary, which one(s) to buy? Hope someone out there can advise. Any help much appreciated.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Hi TSG and welcome to SGL :)

I'd say maybe leave the accessories until you get to grips with your scope.

One thing you will need is a collimation aid. A Cheshire collimator would be my recommendation though some people prefer a laser one.

Best of luck and clear skies :)

Hi Jim. Thanks for the welcome & the prompt reply. OK, that sounds reasonable. I'm sure the EP's provided will be more than adequate for the time being. Can I just quickly ask your opinion on my choice of 'scope? I've read as much as I can & I know it's had excellent reviews. Basically, I'm not a "Techy" person & didn't fancy a GOTO as a 1st 'scope & the SS sounds very straightforward. I'll take your advice on the collimation aid though. Thanks for your help & guidance. I can already see that SGL is going to be invaluable to me!

All the best & clear skies [emoji4][emoji437]

Ah, OK daiwelly, thanks. I already have TL@O & a Planisphere, but not been able to get to grips with them yet as I'm currently only using 10 x 50 bins. Very much looking forward to getting the 'scope up & running & doing a bit of star-hopping! Will definitely get the Cheshire today & a Telrad in due course. Thanks for the advice - much appreciated.

Tony G

The 200p Dob is Britains best selling scope, and with good reason. Excellent piece of kit.