NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie needs help

Hi all

i have had an interest in the stars for sometime now, but have little knowledge of telescopes, and am looking to buy one within the nect week or two!

i have been looking at the skywatcher heritage 114p virtuose and the skywatcher heritage 130p, and was wondering if anyone had one of these?

as a noob, i'm not looking to spend alot of money yet, maybe if i get really into it?

i also would like to get into astrophotography, i understand it takes time to master, but wondered if the 114p is any good to hook an SLR upto & track stars/planets/moon etc?

amy info would be greatly appreciated

Paul

The 114 Virtuoso is an inexpensive start for visual. It really is not appropriate to astrophotography.

The mount is Alt/Az is the main problem also the mount is not really capable of much more then the OTA that is atached, adding a DSLR is going to be a bit heavy.

The scope is fast at f/4.4, so you will need to check collimation at regular intervals and for good images a scope that fast would need a coma corrector. Be aware the Virtuoso is not a goto.

Ultimately for astrophotography you need an equitorial mount, with motors at least. The mount needs to be an EQ5 as a likely minimum and you could need to step up to an HEQ5 fairly soon. The reason for the HEQ5 is to me a bit odd.

If you buy an EQ5 with goto that means you can add guiding, that generally means guide scope, guide camera, and an assortment of extra bits. All extra weight that will likely overload the EQ5. So an EQ5 with goto allows expansion which makes the EQ5 too light.

Unfortunately astrophotography is not really a case of grab an inexpensive visual scope, stick a DSLR on it and it all becomes an astrophotography system. The two aspects are different.