Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Startravel 102 SynScan AZ GOTO 102mm Refractor

Hi everyone, i'm new to all this but trying to get started, anyway i have a 'Startravel 102 SynScan AZ GOTO 102mm Refractor' i have only tried it once as it was a present and i haven't had much time but i am looking to improve it as much as possible and i was hoping that some of you would be able to recommend some targets to try that i could get a decent view of. I also have it hooked up to stellarium and it seems to work well on there but because i don't really know what i would be able to see best i'm not sure what to pinpoint?

Thanks, hoping for a clear night tonight so that i can give it another try!

Hey there friend, welcome to SGL.

A good place to start out would be to look at some bright easy big targets like M31, M42 and M45. Also the Double Cluster in Perseus would be a nice start.

A good book on easy targets for starting out is "Turn Left At Orion", check it out if you want a good book on the subject. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Turn-Left-Orion-Hundreds-Telescope/dp/0521153972

Hi There,

The 102 is a great scope to start with plenty of apperture!  A couple of good links for you below so that you can understand what the limits of your scope are and what you can potentially see. On the field of view calculator remember to 'switch to visual' on. these do all the calculations for you kjust enter your scope and eyepiece data.

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

http://www.stargazing.net/naa/scopemath.htm

And a link in SGL for what you might be able to see  http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/196278-what-can-i-expect-to-see/

Also you need to know that your scope will generate a ertain amount of CA (chromatic aberration) this will put a purple / blue halo around bright objects such as the moon. So if you see this it is normal!!.

Hwyl!

I have an ST102 & it is a great little scope.