Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First go with Andromeda

Yep, another Andromeda attempt! Probably not the best thing to start with (especially when the moon is so bright) but my extender arrived on Monday so I had to try it!

Sooooo

Starwave 70ED on EQ3-2 with RA Motor

50 x 45sec Lights frames (dropped 2 because of planes/satellites and 43 stacked)

30 x Dark

30 x Bias

No Flats

Registered and stacked in DSS (which I am still a novice at so pretty much used the basic settings - actually I tried changing a few things about, adding 2x drizzle and it took about 4 hours and crashed each time, so went back to the basics) and fiddled with the settings in DSS before pulling out the TIF file to play with in GIMP - which I know very little about so will need to start acquainting myself with over the coming weeks.

post-35662-0-65811300-1412753510_thumb.j

The JPEG file is of what I took from DSS, which is okay for a first attempt.

I suspect that there is very little else to tease out from the image in GIMP because of the conditions and the length/number of subs, but I hope this link to the TIF file works, just in case anyone wants to have a fiddle to show me what I could be getting from it. If it is similar to what I have managed then that gives me a benchmark - if you get something wonderful, then I clearly have lots of reading and watching of YouTube to do!

No problem if no one can.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/90118957/6th%20October.TIF

(hope that works)

One thing I did notice on the JPEG is that some of the stars appear hollow - is that related to the Coma (which is evident) or perhaps that the focus isn't quite right - or perhaps a combination of both?

Thanks everyone

(And I'm now hooked......the fact that I can pick up even this basic level of data from something 2.5 million light years away is just amazing)