Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Budget of £400..

Hi,

Total noob here!

So ive been reading/looking over the last few days and its time to ask the community for help.

I want to be able to look at the moon/planets  but also the DSO's really! (although I've read they are generally not in colour :( )

I think in all fairness a GoTo is needed as I have no knowledge of the skies at all  (I can spot the moon haha) I realise its probably just as rewarding finding an object yourself but at the moment that would just frustrate me.

I have an entry level d3200 Nikon DSLR so it would be a nice to attach that using a T2 ring? Im not expecting anything amazing here.

Most observing will be done in back garden but can easily drive 2-3 miles to escape nearly all light pollution, based on this I think a DOB is out of the equation as they surely are only any good on a sturdy table etc..

So I hope you can help me narrow down the dazzling array of choice.

Thanks,

Sean

Hi Seany,

I've got a Celestron Nexstar 130SLT, goto, easy alignment, simple to collimate and use. (£330 on FLO)

The only thing I'd say, if you obtain a brand new one, I'd invest in some better EPs and a battery pack for the motor, batteries don't last long enough to align.

Happy choosing.

Chris

Hi There,

Firstly I would go along to a local astro club to see what they have and what might suit you best... Dobs are best bang for buck value and can be moved relatively easily up to 14" apperture!!! Also download a planetarium program, plenty out there but try stellarium its great and free!  to be found here :--- http://www.stellarium.org/ , also a couple of books to help you round the sky 'sky & telescope pocket star atlas' and 'turn left at Orion'.. Its also remarkable what can be seen with a pair of binos!!!

Cheers

I think you are going to have to drop one of the requirements, and the one that is the "problem" is imaging of DSO's, at least with the goto.