Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

T2 - dSLR.... Barlow or...?

NosamLuap

I'm a total newbie (2 clear nights since I got my first scope! It's a 130mm reflector)

I have a 10mm and 25mm eyepiece, and a 2x Barlow. Already, I've had some great views of the moon with the 10mm eyepiece, but if I swap that out for the Barlow to shoot it with my dSLR, the moon is far smaller... so is there an eyepiece/thingy that allows me to attach the dSLR and an eyepiece at the same time?

(I did promise myself that I wouldn't buy more kit yet until I'd got used to what I have, but I'm not sure my good intentions will hold!)

Thanks Luke. I don't think that's what I want to do - if I mount the camera to the scope directly, then I won't even get the benefit of the 2x from the Barlow. I want more magnification, such as I get when using a short focal length eyepiece. In my brain, what I need is eyepiece (10mm ish) with a t2 thread on the end...

But I'm not sure how I'd focus - I can focus an eyepiece using the scopes focusing, but I'm guessing I'd also need the ability to alter the distance of the camera from the eyepiece? (I may have invented an impossible piece of kit here!)

In my brain, what I need is eyepiece (10mm ish) with a t2 thread on the end... 

Not sure ive heard of something like that. When you attach the camera directly to the scope with the parts i mentioned, you basically have a telephoto lens on the camera. You can use the zoom feature on the camera then, to zoom in on your target. Thats how i do things when i do take an image (which is rarely).

On some eyepieces such as the Baader Hyperion EP's the eyecup screws off to reveal a threaded, this then has a T2 adaptor and extension tubes.

With this setup you can connect a DSLR to an EP for high magnification.

I have the Baader Hyperion zoom and adaptor, this gives a lot of versatility but it is heavy when coupled with a DSLR so make sure your mount and focuser can take the weight.