NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My first goto

alan687

im looking at getting a goto mount to enhance my observing, ideally i would go and buy a HEQ6 but that's way to expensive for me.

After a bit of looking around i came across this http://www.amazon.co.uk/SynScan-AZ-GOTO-Mount-Tripod/dp/B0039ZM2QI/ref=sr_1_4?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1405711462&sr=1-4&keywords=SynScan+AZ+GoTo

its more within what i am willing to spend, i have a astromaster 130, would this mount be suitable and does anyone have any recommendations on anything that would be better at around the same price

Alan

The EQ6 is an equatorial mount and the Synscan AZ is an alt-azimuth mount.

An equatorial mount will enable you observe and to do astrophotoraphy if you want to take it up in the future, 

but the synscan will be no good for astrophotography.

If you think you will just want to observe, then the synscan would be fine.... but if you change your mind later, you will need to change to an equatorial mount.

The EQ6 is an equatorial mount and the Synscan AZ is an alt-azimuth mount.

An equatorial mount will enable you observe and to do astrophotoraphy if you want to take it up in the future, 

but the synscan will be no good for astrophotography.

If you think you will just want to observe, then the synscan would be fine.... but if you change your mind later, you will need to change to an equatorial mount.

why is an alt az mount no good for photography i know it moves differently to an eq but if it is tracking the object and keeping it centered whats the problem

why is an alt az mount no good for photography i know it moves differently to an eq but if it is tracking the object and keeping it centered whats the problem

Field rotation is why an EQ moves differently. Alt-az mounts are fundamentally useless for long exposure astrophotography.

The axis of the equatorial is parallel to Earth's axis so the mount rotates around just that axis to follow a star.