Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The Milky Way - I am complete beginner so I apologise in advance

Hi, I am very new to this. I wondered if you can see the Milky Way from Oxfordshire on a clear night. I've read the best time to see it is when there is no moon. The new moon here is on June 27th so I wondered if it might be possible, if I found a dark sky spot. Any tips and advice would be welcomed. Thank you

If you are in a rural setting, you should be able to see the milky way. Later in the year (August, September) is generally better, because the northern part of the Milky Way is in full view, and the nights are darker. The area around Cygnus is well worth a look from a dark site in July

You can see it fairly easily, but the sky needs to be dark, you will likely have to wait a couple of months for a decent dark sky.

Best is if you are afraid to take a step in case the ground is not there, if you can see your foot at the end of your leg it isn't dark enough :eek:  :eek:  - honestly that dark.

Then it is spectacular.

One slightly strange aspect is that if it is that dark you will not be able to pick out a lot of the constellations. They get lost in the milky way - Casseiopia, Taurus, Cygnus and others all disappear. Little disconcerting.