SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Advice Please

Hi

Bought a used Skywatcher Startravel 120 OTA and looking for advice on what eyepieces to buy.

Will be using the scope mainly for DSO 's

I would be very greatful if anyone who owns this scope could advise on what ep's they use and what they observe with them .

Hope someone can point me in the right direction as all this is still very new to me.

Regards

George

R

I hope my question makws sense as I am still very new to all this.

Hi George,

There are loads of options around for low and medium power eyepieces which will work well with your scope on deep sky objects. To a large extent the choice depends on how much you wish to spend with prices ranging from £50-£70 to £500+ per eyepiece.

Are you able / willing to use 2" format eyepieces ?. These show wider fields of view than their 1.25" counterparts so are a good choice for deep sky viewing.

John the idea of buying a second hand OTA was to own something I can casually use when we go away in the caravan, I own a pair of bins I use when away as its a shame to miss the opportunity of the dark skies I find myself under when out in the countryside, the bins are ok but thought the scope would be a good alternative, as you can appreciate the Skywatcher 150 I have is alittle on the large side to use from a touring caravan, therefore the fact that I bought a fairly cheap small scope I, m not sure if it makes sense spending too much on the ep's.

Hope I am making sense here..... I enjoy using the 150 at home but don't want to miss out on some good viewing while away at weekends.

As far as 2" set up ? I am open to suggestions, as mentioned earlier I am still new to all this, was wondering if there is an all round suitable eyepiece I could buy which could be used with both scopes.

Cheers

George