Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Question about Lodestar Live

HiloDon

I am new to the Lodestar camera and Lodestar Live s/w. Can a dark frame be saved and imported when needed or does a new one have to be produced every time the program is reopened? Also, should a dark frame be produced for each different exposure time? Thanks for any help or suggestions on dark frames. They do seem to work well in eliminating the noise at longer exposures.

I am new to the Lodestar camera and Lodestar Live s/w. Can a dark frame be saved and imported when needed or does a new one have to be produced every time the program is reopened? Also, should a dark frame be produced for each different exposure time? Thanks for any help or suggestions on dark frames. They do seem to work well in eliminating the noise at longer exposures.

Hi Don - I take 3 LL averaged darks of say 30s and just this for exp from 10s to 60s and they seem to work fine.  I don't know if they can be saved and reused but as they are camera temperature dependent I think the few second to create them early in the session worthwhile.    I don't [usually] do darks for my e-finder wideangle shot of typically 15s and use 'despeckle' in PSPv4 to remove hot pixel which don't seem to effect the image otherwise. :police:

Hi Don,

Yep you can save and restore darks, it's the bottom tab when in the Dark acquisition mode. There is a restore button which if you click it will bring up a dialog to chose a master dark FITS file which should be one you have previously saved using the save button on the same tab. You can save after you have captured at least one dark.