NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Seben Barlow?

I have an 8 inch Orion dobsonian. After some great advice on here, I finally decided on buying a zoom eyepiece, but not able to afford the Baader Hyperion, I bought a Seben 8-24mm zoom eyepiece, which seemed to get good reviews elsewhere for its price. It seems fine for my complete novice level and I've had some nice views with it, light pollution permitting!

I also plan to get a small focal length BST.

That leaves a barlow. Again, I am on a tight budget, so I have been wondering if I should go with Seben again. They have a cheap barlow here.

Has anyone got any experience of this barlow? Or would I be wasting money which would be better put towards saving for an Orion shorty?

Thanks

Cant give any advise on the seben barlow the only thing i would say cheap barlows tend to be off poor quality.as for the orion shorty yet again cant help but i do own the orion shorty plus version which is fab... and if the shorty is as good as the plus you will have a very good barlow.

Sadly the shorty plus has been discontinued also the celestron ultima (which are the same barlow just different branding) but do crop up on abs quite regulary

The person selling the BST's also has a selection of barlows on their site, little more costly then the Seben (£20).

They also have one at £17.

Suggest a call to Alan and simply ask him. He is quite honest, well has been so far.

Think they used to have a BST 2x barlow which appears to have gone, cannot recall the cost (may have been more costly then you wanted) but you could ask about them and enquire if any more are expected.

Hi there, at the end of the day you get what you pay for, I have heard the Seben Barlow is not too bad, however, the Orion Shorty Plus (make sure it is the 'Plus') is extremely good and will last a lifetime, if you want to start off with quality.