Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

This morning (26-Feb-14), and the end of my first year

AndyWB

So, it's the end of my first year of observing with a scope, and I wasn't able to sleep well last night. In the end, I gave up, and went out with the scope.

The plan was to look at Saturn with the 250px - I've never used it on Saturn before - but somehow I ended up trawling through the Virgo cluster. LP in Reading is bad, but despite that I found M58-60, 88-91, 98 & 99, I followed Markarian's Chain, and with various NGC objects, I racked up about 20 new (to me) galaxies. 

Then I had a look at Mars. To be honest, it was a bit blurred, and I'm wondering if I'm struggling a bit with the BSTs in the 250px. Despite that, you could see phase on it, and definitely some darker patches on the surface, and I think the north looked like it might have a white patch on it, but I'm not sure if that's that likely to see, or just wishful thinking.

Saturn was fantastic. It looked, well, nearly photographic. The Cassini division was, well, just there - no struggling to see it. I guess that's the extra resolution of the bigger scope. I could see the brightest 4 moons easily, and I'd swear that at points I could pick out a 5th; the SaturnsMoons app shows Enceladus in the same location, though I think at magnitude 11.7, and being in Reading, well, I'm not sure if that's just coincidence.

Then I realised I've also not used the 250px on a glob, so I pointed it at M13.

Wow.

The difference was like night and day. Instead of simply a fuzzy blob of light, as most globs looked (though not all - M4 didn't), I could see stars all the way to the middle. It was fantastic - more like a giant open cluster than a globular one as I was used to. 

I can see I'll have to revisit all the globs again.