Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron astromaster 130EQ-MD

Good morning all.

Firstly thank you for accepting me request to join this forum.

My wife bought me a130EQ-MD for my birthday. As I am new to this whole game, I would like some advice on a couple of things following my first couple of nights viewing.

The red dot finder is poor to say the least and I did align it in day light as advised, but still find it difficult to use. So is there anyway of replacing this with a more suitable finderscope without damaging the main scope casing? Also what scope would you recommend replacing it with?

At present, the only eyepieces I have are the 25mm and 10mm that came with the scope, so what would you recommend grading with to get a decent beginners experience of the night sky?

Your help is much appreciated

Jason

Hi Jason, and welcome to SGL.

I think the AstroMaster 130 is a good starting point for anyone just unto Astronomy and should give you plenty of enjoyment. I started out with one when I took Astronomy up again, and won't get rid of it even though I have upgraded to a 10" Dob :grin: :grin: . I know many members on here have this 'scope.

Personally though, I think the red dot finder is naff, and quickly replaced it with a Rigel QuickFinder http://www.firstlightoptics.com/finders/rigel-quikfinder-compact-reflex-sight.html . Don't worry about the extra battery pack. It will run on a CR2032 battery for years, and you can always keep a couple of spares in your pocket. The Telrad is a similar device but probably just a little too big for this 'scope. I find it much easier to use than the RDF and greatly reduces the time it takes to hunt down elusive objects.