NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher explorer 130m?

Hi,

I'm new to astronomy and looking to buy my first telescope...excited!! I'm always looking at sky, moon & stars and can't wait to see the planets. I'm looking for advice to what anybody thinks of the skywatcher explorer 130m? As I've not had a telescope before nor have I used a telescope before I'm really stuggling to understand what would be the best telescope for me. Something easy to use, be able to see planets and if I would need to buy extras to go with a telescope. Any advice would be so helpful and much appreciated :)

Thanks

Jade

Try the skywatcher heritage 130p . It's the same mirror but on a simple left / right / up and down mount . It's a perfect beginners scope . Many here recomend . Some experienced observers like them as grab and go set ups .

Try the skywatcher heritage 130p . It's the same mirror but on a simple left / right / up and down mount . It's a perfect beginners scope . Many here recomend . Some experienced observers like them as grab and go set ups .

I think the 130p would have a parabolic mirror whereas the 130m doesn't. The parabolic mirror would be better.

Well I'd go with the heritage 130p personally , leaves some money spare incase you want an extra eyepiece or star atlas ect.

But for £200 you might also consider the Skyliner 150p dob. Gives you 6" aperture which is a good dollop of light grasp and it's on a dob mount which is intuitive to use.

Hi Jade,

I have the Skywatcher 130, which is the same as the one you mentioned except the mount doesn't have a motor.