NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

some advice on lenses

So Ive got a brand new orion skywatcher xt6 with the standard lens that it comes with, Ive had a good view of jupiter earlier this eve, am thinking of buying a  barlow lens x2 or x3? Im very new to all this stuff so maybe you could advise me which lens or lenses to buy? should I get a few different ones or just the extra barlow and what magnifiaction(s) should I get

Tough question actually.......

Wondering what your budget is ?    There's such a huge range of eyepieces at all prices.

However, what I'd do is this - have at least a few sessions with your new telescope, see how you get on.  You've looked at Jupiter, that's a great test of how good your current equipment is.  

How was the view ? After the scope cooled to ambient temperature, with Jupiter well clear of the horizon, could you see a sharp disc with more than two cloud bands ?  What magnification were you using ?

It may take several sessions to determine this, the steadiness of the atmosphere varies a lot from night to night.  If you were getting a good view (as already described) at 120 - 150x, that's good.  If you are getting a sharp view at 150 - 200x, that's excellent.

When buying eyepieces, I'd avoid the cheapest, more expensive in the long run if you have to upgrade again.  Get the best you can, but be satisfied with not super high powers. Above 200x is used the least.

HTH, Ed.

As the focal length is 1200mm then I suggest a 12mm for 100x and an 8mm for 150x, I think Orion supply a 25mm giving 48x. That should be usable for the majority of things. At some time look at a 32mm (36x) for wider views.

Choice, the BST Strarguiders from Sky's the Limit will be good, for a bit less StL also do a BST Wide angle, oddly named as it is not as wide (quite) as the Starguiders.