Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tripod mounts? Any recommendations for something simple and portable?

Hello All - i'm new to astronomy and am slowly getting myself acquainted to my Celestron Nexstar 8 se. The goto mount is really nice to have, but I'd like to take the scope to remote locations and do things manually every now and then.

I have a very sturdy heavy duty photography tripod that I was hoping to use - does anyone make an alt-az tripod head that can be mounted onto different tripods? This is something that I would like to disassemble and take aboard a plane, so an equatorial mount is out of the question. On the other end of the spectrum, I assume the cheapo pan-tilt heads that are used for video cameras would be useless. I can't seem to find many alternatives on the various online retailer websites.

Any recommendations from those of you who travel a lot with your telescopes?

The 8SE is not a small or light scope by any means and thus requires a fairly substantial mount regardless of type.  The Goto mount that it came with is at its limit with the 8SE.

If you don't fancy lugging an HEQ5 Pro around then a good alternative is a Vixen Alt-Az mount and tripod.  The Vixen Porta II is about the minimum you would probably want to use the 8SE on, keeping in mind accessories and eyepieces that you might want to fit as well, the SkyTee2 is a beefier option, though with a beefier price tag to match if you get the tripod to go with it.  The tripod can make or break a set up - get a good beefy tripod and your mount will be as solid as it can be, this is why I like the Omni CG-4 mount and tripod, it's very similar in design to the NEQ6 Pro.

Not sure what the baggage limits are like on a plane, you may have to travel light and take a big suit case to fit the tripod and mount in, let alone the OTA (with copious amounts of padding - the original packing it came in is probably the best starting point).  Expect rough handling on the baggage carousel.