NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Polarie or Astrotrac?

Elektra

Hello everyone (virgin post)

Although I am a seasoned photographer (retired pro, in the late autumn of my time on this planet) I am entirely ignorant when it comes to matters celestial, hence the simplicity of my first question to the forum.

For many years I have had a latent interest in photographing the night sky, but it's only in recent weeks that I have actually taken the first steps towards achieving this objective, by acquiring a Vixen brand 'Polarie' mount, the Polar Axis Scope and the 'quick Polaris locator' gadget.

This Vixen gear is currently on 'sale or return' (courtesy of the very helpful Astronomia shop in Dorking who, incidentally, offer an amazingly flexible service I've come to realise)  

Although I have not actually set-up and used this equipment, I have done a fair bit of research and already I am in some doubt as to whether the Polarie will be up to the job of successfully handling the photo gear I want to eventually use.  May I tell you what that is first of all?

The most suitable camera I have (and intend using) is the Nikon D800 which (without lens) weighs in at approximately 1000 grammes (2lb 3oz) which is fine according to the Polarie literature, but the main lens I want to use when I am competent at setting this device up accurately, is the chunky AF-S 80-400 Nikkor, which weighs in at approx 1600 grammes (3.5 lbs)  To this, of course, must be added a ball head and mounting plate (another 500 grammes) which I think takes it over the recommended weight limit.

I have recently 'discovered' the Astrotrac (thanks to YouTube) and I'm ow having second-thoughts as to whether or not this is the preferred choice, given the equipment I have, and my aspirations for the future.