Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Question about Stellarium & basic observing

Hi

I'm new to this

I'm just trying to locate Pegasus. I thought it might help to use the software programme Stellarium so I could see a diagram on the computer and compare it to the night sky.

So; my first question is - is this the right place to ask Stellarium related questions? If so...

I thought maybe I could type 'Markab' into Stellarium and thus get it to show me at least that corner of the constellation. Is this possible with Stellarium?

My second question is more general. All I really want to do is locate Pegasus. I can see a couple of candidates but I'm not sure if I've really got it or not. What would someone recommend to a complete beginner like myself as the best way to spot Pegasus?

with thanks

--Venera9

post-30537-0-41158200-1383004463_thumb.j

At the bottom of stellarium screen is a button bar that pops up when you move the mouse to lower left of the screen. The first two icons when you press them will show you constellation lines and labels.  The labels should make it clear. 

Hi

I'm new to this

I'm just trying to locate Pegasus. I thought it might help to use the software programme Stellarium so I could see a diagram on the computer and compare it to the night sky.

So; my first question is - is this the right place to ask Stellarium related questions? If so...

I thought maybe I could type 'Markab' into Stellarium and thus get it to show me at least that corner of the constellation. Is this possible with Stellarium?

My second question is more general. All I really want to do is locate Pegasus. I can see a couple of candidates but I'm not sure if I've really got it or not. What would someone recommend to a complete beginner like myself as the best way to spot Pegasus?

with thanks

--Venera9

I don't see why you can't ask Stellarium questions here as many members here do use it.