NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

130pm Eyepieces advice

Hi all, I read the brilliant sticky post on Eyepieces and did post this in there but figuered people might skim over it:

Would just like to check that I'm buying correctly before hitting the Purchase button!

Sky Watcher 130pm scope owned:

To Buy - Skywatcher 2x Deluxe Achromatic 1.25" Barlow

To Buy - Skywatcher SP Plossl eyepieces 17mm and/or 20mm

I'm not rich so cant afford the more pricey models, but not sure if there's a vast difference between 17mm and 20mm? bearing in mind they are out of stock of the lower EP anyway, not sure if they are both worth getting or just getting one now and a 25mm and lower mm later on? Complete beginner so doing the obvious Planet hunting and Moon stuff currently.

Thanks all

What is your total eyepiece Budget?

Quality wise the cheap 2x achromatic barlows probably Don't differ much or come from the same factory anyway.

I have one from meade and one from seben (their eyepieces are decent while their telescopes have had bad press).

Do you own the stock 10 and 25mm eyepieces?

For planetd you should get a 5 to 6 mm eyepieces and a barlow, but don't get Plössl with such short focal lengrh as the eye relief is too short to comfortably use them.

Budget solutions are the 66 degree swa eyepieces, around 27£ shipped, better at f/5 focal ratio are the tmb or bst planetary eyepieces (around 40£).

The seben/orbinar barlow costs around 13£ shipped.

Budget-budget solution:

30/32mm Plössl for the widest field possible on 1,25" focuser (or don't, stock 25mm eyepiece will be sufficient for a while, the 30mm 12£ Plössl require a diy eyecup and the 32mm brand name Plössl are good but not cheap)

6mm swa 66 degree aparent field of view eyepiece

http://m.ebay.de/itm/140717462903