Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dew problems

Over the last couple of weeks I've had some problems with dew. Now, I'm fairly new at this, so I don't know if it's just seasonal or something, but I don't remember the spring having the same problem.

Anyway, I've been trying to figure out what to do to stop my eyepieces and secondary dewing up. Over the last couple of weeks they've been doing that on my Heritage 130p, and the secondary has been despite my using a shroud.

So I'm not sure what is a good idea? I'd prefer not to spend as much on heating systems as on the scope (that hardly seems worth it).

Thoughts I've had are:

- A couple of proper dew heaters. Seems a bit overkill for such a wee scope.

- A battery and 12v Hair Dryer - but it would mean adding a battery to my kit (at the moment I'm electricity free!), and that isn't exactly cheap.

- Try and extend the shroud well past the secondary - like the standard 'camping mat' suggestion. I'm not sure that fitting a 'camping mat' extension past the front of the tube is a good, given the tube 'opening' and secondary support not being that substantial. How are would it have to go? And I guess this won't help with the eyepieces... Could be worth trying though just 'cos it's cheap.

- Wait and see if the dew thing has just be a humid couple of weeks and goes away by itself.

Anyone have any other ideas, thoughts or observations that might help?

Andy I have a Flextube Dobsonian and occasionally I get dew on the secondary. I now have a shroud around the main body and a dew shield on the top of the scope about 15 inches long. I bought a cheap 12v hairdryer from eBay and plug it into by car portable jump starter - it works well. My eyepieces remain in their case until wanted - occasional they cloud over and I either change eyepiece or give it a quick blow with the hair dryer.

Mark