NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First scope advise please.

I posted another thread on this in the wrong section so please excuse...

I've been looking at the Skywatcher 130p and read nothing but great reviews. As a total noob I will be starting off with the moon then moving onto planets etc, the usual scenario!! Out the back of my house is real dark so it will be a good place to begin, I feel the need for a tripod is a must due to fences etc. I work on a farm in the middle of nowhere and it's also on top of a big hill so that should be a great place also (although the wind might be my worst enemy).

Now back to the scope. I really don't want to jump in  both feet first and spend 100's so I rather start off with a reasonable scope and spend the extra on good eye pieces, as I use to hunt/shoot at night under a lamp I realise the difference good glass can make.

If anyone's got any advise on a good set up in the £200/250 margins I'm all ears. I'm in no rush to buy as I'd like to gather all the info I can first.

I'm in your hands!!

Many thanks, Steve.

Hello Steve,

a stable table or box and the heritage 130p will be more rigid then the 130/650 on the budget mounts/tripod.

If you can stretch your budget to 270-280£ / 330€ you'd be able to buy a 8" dobsonian that will show you much more then a 5" telescope.

http://clarkvision.com/visastro/m51-apert/

http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&nv=1&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=de&tl=en&u=http://www.binoviewer.at/beobachtungspraxis/teleskopvergleich_deepsky.htm&usg=ALkJrhidF6g0miZxrqxLgQvo-oxZsVXRzA

But most of the time you'll discover how anoying neighbor's lights street lights and so on really are, and a 5" is much more portable...

I myself use the smaller telescope the most, due to the ease of setup and portability.

A tripod usualy is more bulky, and the sets usualy contain a mount that's a tad to weak to carry the telescope, especially for high magnifications.