NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Entry Telescope and Personalised Lens

Hi Guys,

I was wondering if you might be able to help me. I am a total novice when it comes to telescopes and lenses however it is something that my partner and I are interested in getting involved with. We have been talking about it for ages, but never got round to it! So for her birthday I want to get a telescope set up for her.

I am looking to purchase an entry level telescope, but I also need to have a custom, personalised lens made. I need a lens made so that it displays a message when you look through the telescope.

My first question is, what is a good entry level telescope to go for, and should I be looking out for any specific things when purchasing one? My second question is, where/how would I go about getting a lens personalised with a message?

I would really appreciate any advice that you might be able to give! Thank you in advance,

Kind regards

Jim (Kent,UK)

Hi Jim and welcome to the forum !

I'll leave it to others to suggest scopes and where to buy them - there are many choices depending on the budget available.

On the message thing - nice idea but really not practical I'm afraid. Anything engraved on the lens / mirror would be totally out of focus when viewing astro objects and also would degrade the image quality for no purpose. By all means have the outside of the scope tube engraved if you wish - any engraver could to that I reckon - but I'd leave the optics pristine.