Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A Few Firsts; LRGB, Bi-Colour and Ha - Cygnus Loop and Iris

Hytham

Good evening!

I'm relatively new to the world of imaging (started one year ago), new to this board and I wanted to share some of my CCD firsts (about 2 months now): Cygnus Loop in Ha, Cygnus Loop in bi-colour (Ha + OIII) and a widefield image of the Cepheus region highlighting the Iris nebula with a couple of LBN objects.

All images were taken with a Tak FSQ106 EDXIII, FLI ML16803 and Astrodon filters at native F5. Image acquisition details are found in the Astrobin descriptions, but please ask if you want more info.

I'm very open to criticisms as they only help me improve. So please don't be shy if you don't care for an image and telling me why (I have very thick skin).

Thanks for looking.

Cygnus Loop Ha Small:

5fef12e9-58f7-4f6e-9ef3-bd8c0023c539_thumb.png

Cygnus Loop Bi-Colour Small:

d2f764ae-0cb5-45d8-aa33-0bb83f7d8660_thumb.png

Widefield Iris (NGC 7023) LRGB Small:

6d99c8dd-a832-47d3-b2c6-c488f24f7f43_thumb.png

-Hytham

Super images, for somebody that is only 1 year into imaging, these are outstanding. As above, I think the Iris shot is rather special since you've pulled a lot of dusty nebulosity out even with relatively limited exposure times. Excellent.

Martin

This is great imaging. Well done!

Are you not tempted to add some RGB to the Veil in order to get some star colour? The depth is fabulous and the processing superb.

Fabulous dust in the Iris, too. If I were going to be picky (and at this level of high quality I'm inclined to be picky!) I'd just say that I think the Iris core is a little blown and maybe colour saturated?

If this is after only a year I have no idea where you'll be in five years...

Olly

Thank you, everyone. I really appreciate all the compliments and criticisms! Only way to learn, right? :)