NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

nebula filter for sw heritage 130p

Hi, I was looking for advice on equipment for my sky watcher 130p heritage flextube. I was wanting to get a nebula filter and from what I can see I would need to get an UHC rather than an Oiii filter, I was torn between the skywatcher UHC and the baader UHC.

The other thing is that the most powerful eyepiece I have is a vixen NPL 10mm which gives me a magnification of 65x, would I be better off getting a more powerful eyepiece before a nebula filter?

Hello,

I have no experience with UHC Filter yet, but there is a number of filters thart supposedly work better with smaller apertures as they don't filter as narrow as a UHC filter. They sell as lp filter, contrast filters and so on, and some seem to be not good. Not sure which is to rcomend at the moment.

As for eyepieces, I have a 8mm HR Planetary and m81/m82 just fit into view. But now I also own a 6mm UWA 66 degree eyepice, great for the price (27£/32€), and great for deepsky (small nebulae and star clusters) as well.

Of course higher magnifications mean dimmer views, but under dark skies I have successfully used a 3.2mm and 2.5mm HR Planetary and even saw the bridge of m51 indirectly in it, awesome what the little telescope can do even from a less then perfect location.

Also when the planets are up high, it's fun to view them at 200 or 260x when the seeing/conditions allow it.

It really depends on what you want to observe, but a variety of magnifications is useful. 30mm Plössl, 20mm and 6mm UWA plus 17€ achromatic barlow would be my minimum equipment, though I have allready left the house with just the 20mm and a 3 and 2x barlow. Okey for not-so-dim objects...

In the long run the Planetary complete the eyepiece case.

So 32mm, 20mm, 15mm, 9mm, 6mm and 3.2mm or better a HR Planetary Astrozoom around the range 8-3mm or something would be ideal, but probably overkill.