NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

lower price binoculars

Watchman

Now I know this is going to hurt the hearts of binocular lovers but I have an extremely limited budget for astronomy sadly. Can anyone tell me what would be the best binoculars I can expect to get for under £30.

I have seen a brand called Kepler who do 10 and 12 X 50 for that price range.

Helios Solana 12 or 10 X 50, is this the same brand as the legendary Helios Apollo's I hear about?

Also, would 12 X 50 be a real advantage over 10 X 50 or is there some drawback to that extra magnification?

Be gentle, I am a novice in all things astronomical!

My advice would be to get a used "old fashioned" 10x50, something like a Zenith, Swift Newport, or Frank-Nipole. Far better made and more robust than modern budget stuff, aperture is not stopped down internally so they are brighter, despite nominally poorer coatings and unfairly-derided BK7 prisms. See http://binocularsky.com/binoc_eval.php for how to check it over.

Other the UK, where are you?

There is a birding show on in 2-3 weeks that has a huge marquee of binoculars which you can try.

Sort of every model by 20+ makers which you can try out and see what you think, prices are fro £40-50 up to £1600.

It is at Rutland Water but UK as a location is not really helpful to suggest anything.

Lidl's sell a great set of 10x50 for less then £30. They only come on sale about twice a year.............summer and christmas. It will be worth picking up a set near christmas as they are great bins. In the mean time maybe have a look around for a second hand set of 10x50. You might just find one at your budget.