Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What to hunt for in area of Bootis?

Hi all,

Can you pleases give some pointers in to what to look for after viewing Saturn & the Moon other than constellations?

I have tried some star hopping with the bins using Spica of Virgo first as it's quite bright and near Saturn, then head towards Bootis locating Arcturus and from there have gone on to Vega in the constellation Lyra. Only using a planisphere and a day (white led light) & night (red led light)vision torch!

At the minute Lyra is one of my favourite summer constellations!

With in that area for now what could I try to view other than the amazing stars of the constellations? Please try to be realistic as I am only starting out this year with my 130eq Astromaster and bins. The EP's i have to date can range from 20x up to over 160x if this helps.

Am I right in thinking the summer sky Is not as vibrant as the winter sky?

TIA,

Regards,

Mr Gaza.

Hi,

Firstly, let me say that the summer sky has plenty of things for you to find! The only problem with it is that it doesn't stay dark as long as the winter sky! This means that you may have to wait until well after midnight to achieve a dark enough sky to look for deep sky objects (DSOs) - not ideal!

However, you seem to have managed to start finding your way around using the constellations visible to you (Leo and Virgo aren't very good for me since they are both too low on the horizon by the time the sky is dark enough!). For more star hopping, get a copy of the book 'Turn Left at Orion'. It has great star hopping guides for each of the seasons, not to mention an excellent section on the moon and its various phases. It also has brilliant pictures of what you can realistically see in a 5" scope. Very handy when you aren't sure if you've actually managed to find a certain DSO.