Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help Please - Really Confused and Stuck

I am a beginner with a Skywatcher 150PL with an EQ3-2 mount.

I have also bought a PolarScope, the new style design which requires you to unscrew the partial mount and screw the new style polarscope in its place.

This is where I get confused and may have also a bit of a mess for myself.

So my questions

1 The RA scale. This is part of the mount. I can unlock it, move it an lock it in any position I want. I can also rotate the mount around the RA axis and that has no affect on the RA scale. So how no I know what position to lock the RA scale in.

2 Is there a reference position for the mount when rotating around the RA axis. I can't see any alignment marks so where should it be when setting up.

3 Now the polarscope. When you take the old style mount off it has 5 thin plastic washers behind it. I'm guessing you should use the right number so that when screwed in, the polarscope is in the right position. But when fitting the new style polarscope how will I work out how many washers to include. I understand that midnight Nov 1, polaris should appear directly below the NCP when viewed through the polarscope. That's fine but as the polarscope rotates with RA how do I know where RA should be on Nov 1 midnight.

4 To make matters worse I slacked off the collar on the polarscope which has the indicator line so now I am unsure of the position. How can I work out where it should go. There seems to be too many variable - RA Rotation, amount polarscope is screwed in, position of the indicator on the polarscope.

Any advice would be really welcomed.

Cheers,

Nigel