Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Temperatures and eye strain

The other night I finally managed to get my first look at the night sky though my scope. Even just through the finderscope I could see hundreds and hundreds more stars than with the naked eye, all waiting patiently for me to come and inspect them.

With the aid of a friend (also a complete newb like myself) we observed a satellite, Betlegeuse, the Orion Nebula and a couple of other things before viewing conditions became too poor (not that they were anywhere near goo to begin with). Among the multitude of questions I have from last night, the two pressing ones are these:

1. I was observing in the room I have had the scope set up in for a few days now, so knew I didnt really have to worry about cooling the scope to ambient temperature. However, assuming there is no wind of course, is there a lowest temperature its safe to use a scope at? I know this may be a silly question as things like Hubble work at temperatures my tiny little mind cant begin to comprehend, but thought I would check before exposing both my scope and myself to the cold.
  2. After about 20-30 mins of observing and going between targets (I wasn't doing anything specific as it was my first time) I began to struggle to keep my left eye closed, which eventually lead to it becoming really difficult to focus with my right eye as the left was having a song and dance all on its own, refusing to be closed and relaxed. Im aware this is something that may just come with time, but am wondering if theres something simple I have missed or a trick I should know.

Even though I had several issues, and cloud, and dirty windows, and wind, and my neighbours really inconsiderate 24/7 security light, I still managed to see enough to get me on the road to being hooked.

Any help/guidance would be more than appreciated for the next time (tonight hopefully, weather permitting) I get to observe that brilliant black canvas we call Space.

Cheers!