Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie buying a Celestron - Advice welcome

Greetings all,

As a complete newbie I particularly appreciate this site and would like to get some ideas/feedback from you.

I am in the early stages of looking to buy a telescope which offers a good all round performance, shows results with a ‘wow’ factor (subjective I know but passion is subjective) and capable of providing good photographic results.

Overall it seems SCT is the way to go.

From what I have read so far, once you have decided on the type of telescope you want, the key issue is the 3 A’s – Aperture, Aperture, Aperture.

I guess this means the minimum I need is an 8” scope.

From the reports here, it seems that Celestron offers a better all round quality/performance than Meade. On this basis the choice seems to be:

NexStar 8SE

This seems to be an impressive piece of kit although I did read a comment somewhere that the mount is not well suited to deep space photography. Any comments/experience on this?

CPC 800 with GPS

I understand that this has a superior mount and overcomes the problem mentioned above. It also has GPS – whilst this sounds a pretty neat idea it comes at a premium and I wonder if I would be better off purchasing a non GPS, larger scope for about the same money. It crossed my mind that as my car has Sat Nav anyway, I could read off the co-ordinates from that and enter them into the scope (provided of course they were in proximity). Would this be an alternative?

C9.25 - SGT

Based on the above, it occurred to me that this scope would be a better alternative than the CPC 800 for roughly the same money. I know nothing about this scope so I wonder what you think?